Heceta Lighthouse & Keeper’s House Tours

This summer, visitors can discover what the life of a lighthouse keeper was like on a lighthouse and keeper’s house tour at Heceta Head. The Heceta Head Lighthouse and the Keeper’s House are both located off Highway 101 between Yachats and Florence. Access to both historic buildings are via a short half-mile trail from the Heceta Head Lighthouse State Scenic Viewpoint parking lot ($5 fee per vehicle is required).

Fun Facts: The Heceta lighthouse was lit for the first time in 1894, with a light pattern that flashes white every 10 seconds. Heceta’s first-order Fresnel lens is the only one known to exist on the West coast that was made in England (most were made in France).

Tour Info

Staff-guided tours of the outside and ground floor of the lighthouse are available every day this summer from 11 a.m.-3 p.m., weather and staff permitting. The tour includes the outside area at the base of the lighthouse and the ground floor (upper levels are closed to the public). Interpretive signs tell the story of the lighthouse and those who walk up the lighthouse trail can get a good view of the lens. (541-547-3416;

Tours of the historic Keeper’s House are offered every day except Wednesdays from Memorial Day to Labor Day and are free to the public. The tours focus on the lives of the Keepers’ and their families.

There is no charge for tours, but donations are appreciated. Public parking is located at the Heceta Head Lighthouse State Scenic Viewpoint. ■

Photos courtesy Heceta Lighthouse Bed & Breakfast